close menu
Take the Future in Your Hands with DC’s New Tarot Deck

Take the Future in Your Hands with DC’s New Tarot Deck

There’s a new DC-themed tarot deck coming out soon. Pre-orders for the deck just opened if you need to throw down some money on a new tarot deck any time soon. DC Comics asked Eisner-nominated artist Sara Richard to take pen to card to bring this special set of tarot cards to life. Each card is filled with your favorite DC characters as well as enough symbolism to help foretell any of your future readings. Here’s a look at some of the amazing artwork, card interpretations, and instructions for a beginner’s reading.

The Joker is suitably creepy in his role as The Tower. The Tower represents change, especially the kind that is disruptive, sudden, or potentially destructive. The Tower comes right after The Devil in the Major Arcana (a suit of 22 cards in the tarot deck, distinct from the four suits of the Minor Arcana).

Poison Ivy is stunning in this depiction of her as The Empress. This card has a strong connection to nature and is commonly interpreted as representing the creation of life, romance, business, or art. The Empress is the third card of the Major Arcana.

Judgement is the 20th card in the Major Arcana and usually represents rebirth, inner calling, or absolution. The artist chose to go with a classic effect by including skeletons rising from the grave, a common motif for the Judgement. And of course, you would have to include the Spectre, the agent of Judgement for the DC Universe, front and center in this particular card.

Cat Woman was probably chosen as the High Priestess for her mystery. The High Priestess represents mystery, the subconscious mind, intuition, and higher powers.

Temperance (Temperence) is the card of the Major Arcana which represents balance, meaning, purpose, moderation, and patience. Here you see Raven wielding light and dark, a perfect representation of balance.

Despite the name, The Fool is actually a great card to see in your reading. The Fool represents innocence, a free spirit, spontaneity, and beginnings. Harley is rather fitting as the first card in the Major Arcana.

The Hierophant is the fifth card of the Major Arcana. The Hierophant represents conformity, group identification, religion, beliefs, and tradition. Ra’s al Ghul appears as the focus on this card with a firm grip on the world.

How to Do a Reading

DC’s new tarot deck includes all the cards of the Major and Minor Arcanas, a total of 78 distinct and beautiful cards. Tarot decks can be used for games, like playing cards, but are more commonly used for divination readings. There are many different spreads that can be used in a tarot reading, but two are especially good for the novice reader.

You can perform a one card spread by asking a clear and precise question before drawing a card. This spread is limited in its usefulness since you only have one card to interpret and no other cards to help with enlightenment. A single card can be used in the morning to get an idea about your day to come or as a general way to practice your reading skills.

Image Credit: Black Dog Tarot

A very common spread and perhaps the most common for beginners is the three card spread. This spread is usually used to reveal the user’s past, present, and future. Just as with the one card spread, the question asked here must be clear and precise. Once the question is asked and the cards are laid out, the card on the left represents the issues of the past, the middle card represents the events in your life at present, and the card on the right is representative of the outcome.


Featured Image and Tarot Card Images Credit: DC Collectibles

Critical Role Fan Art Gallery – Spectrum Of Expression

Critical Role Fan Art Gallery – Spectrum Of Expression

Critical Role

Critical Role: Episode 105 – The Fear of Isolation

The 4 Best Improv Rules To Improve Your D&D Game

The 4 Best Improv Rules To Improve Your D&D Game